18 C
New York
Friday, May 27, 2022

Buy now

Reviews in Review: Sportsfriends, Amazing Spider-Man 2

Plus Tesla Effect, Raiden IV: Overkill

Hey some dude in the comments said I should do this drunk so Max made me drink malt liquor. Anyway here are the reviews I reviewed last week (as well as a couple more that went up after the video).

Bound By Flame(PC [reviewed], PS3, PS4, Xbox 360)Developer: SpidersPublisher: Focus Home InteractiveRelease Date: May 9, 2014MSRP: $39.99

The game is actually on your side when it comes to whipping your character into shape, too, as if to compensate for dim AI and the repetitive grind that some may not find as rewarding as I did. There’s plenty of loot scattered throughout the multiple winding passageways and easy-to-navigate dungeons, giving you numerous chances to craft new potions and other necessary items for use in battle. While gold isn’t exactly in short supply, you’ll still be faced with enough opportunities to make your own fortune rather than looking for your next payday.

Verdict: 7/10 – Read the fullBound By Flamereview

Hitman GO(iOS)Developer: Square EnixPublisher:Square EnixReleased: April 17, 2014MSRP: $4.99

Still, I was more than enamored with the numerous nods to classicHitmanmoments, additional costumes, and the amount of polish lavished upon this bizarre yet savory addition to theHitmanuniverse. It’s not perfect, and it certainly won’t appeal to everyone, but if you’re jonesing for your next taste of the life of an assassin,Hitman GOis the hippest way to emulate everyone’s favorite sharp-dressed agent.

Verdict: 8/10 – Read the fullHitman GOreview

Republique: Metamorphosis(iOS [reviewed on an iPhone 5], Mac, PC)Developer: Camouflaj, LoganPublisher: CamouflajReleased: April 30, 2014 (iOS) / PC (TBA)MSRP: $4.99 (Each Episode)

I had my doubts about theRepubliqueproject as a whole, but it’s clear to me now after two episodes that Camouflaj “gets it.” The studio is finding a way to improve upon the core tenets of the game while maintaining an episodic format, which many other developers don’t tend to do. While I wouldn’t recommend that everyone rush out and buy the Season Pass right now, I’m looking forward to seeing what the next episode brings to the table.

Verdict: 7.5/10 – Read the fullRepublique: Metamorphosisreview

Sportsfriends(PC, PS3, PS4 [reviewed])Developer: Die Gute FabrikPublisher:Die Gute FabrikRelease Date: May 6, 2014MSRP: $14.99

Despite the fact that I don’t think I’ll be playingBarabariball or Super Pole Riders for very long, Hokra’s level editor gives it legs, andJohann Sebastian Joust shouldn’t be missed by anyone who enjoys having company over. It’s a very uneven package in the sense that there could have either been a few more games and a few could have been better, but honestly — $15 isn’t a terrible price just for Joust alone.

Verdict: 7/10 – Read the fullSportsfriendsreview

Raiden IV: OverKill(PS3)Developer: MOSSPublisher: UFO Interactive GameReleased: April 29, 2014MSRP: $19.99

Raiden IV: OverKillcould have used a few more extras, but the fact that you can get it cheaper than the Xbox 360 version when it launched (it’s $20 now digitally as well) is a compelling reason for genre fans to pick this one up. While theRaidenseries in general isn’t my favorite collective of shmups, it’s been a steady staple for over two decades for a reason.

Verdict: 7.5/10 – Read the fullRaiden IV: OverKillreview

The Elder Scrolls Online(Mac, PC [reviewed], PlayStation 4, Xbox One)Developer: ZeniMax Online StudiosPublisher: Bethesda SoftworksRelease: April 4, 2014 (Mac, PC) / June 2014 (PlayStation 4, Xbox One)MSRP: $59.99 ($14.99subscriptionfee, with 30 days included in base game)

I think right now, the most prudent thing to do is to wait for ZeniMax to iron out all ofThe Elder Scrolls Online‘skinks (including how it handles post level 50 content to make it less grindy), and play the console version of the game. Not only will it arrive with all of the updates from the PC version in tow, but it’ll also have full native controller support — which feels more natural than a mouse and keyboard in this instance.

Verdict: 6.5/10 – Read the fullThe Elder Scrolls Onlinereview

Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure(PC [reviewed], Mac)Developer: Big Finish GamesPublisher: AtlusReleased: May 7, 2014MRSP: $19.99 / £14.99

The humor doesn’t always work and the puzzle design is still rooted in the series’ 1990s adventure game roots, meaning it feels archaic in spots, but there are some welcome concessions to modern design with the flashlight and hint system. Tex Murphy might be alive in 2014 but he’ll need to learn a few more tricks if he’s to stay around for another adventure.

Verdict: 6.5/10 – Read the fullTesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventurereview

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

0FansLike
3,335FollowersFollow
0SubscribersSubscribe
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles