The new Xbox One dashboard rolls out tonight

0
62

Backward compatibility to follow

November is flying by me. It’s nearly time for the new Xbox One dashboard update, and you know what that means: backward compatibility! The initial list of supported Xbox 360 games falls short of my expectations, but it’ll improve with time, and I am jazzed to play some Doom II with an Xbox One controller. There are some things to know about the update, however.

The current plan is to begin the rollout at 3:01am Eastern / 12:01am Pacific on November 12. As such, “not everyone will get the update at once,” depending on time zones and system settings.

Also, no matter when you get the console update, the backward compatibility feature won’t start rolling out until 3:01pm Eastern / 12:01pm Pacific on November 12. If you were going to stay up late for that stuff specifically, a change of plans is probably in order.

A reminder on how to install system updates: “If your console is in Energy-saving mode, your Xbox One will not automatically download and install the update. To initiate the download and update process, you can go to Settings – System to manually check if an update is available and choose ‘Update Now.’”

Global Rollout Of The New Xbox One Experience On Nov 12 [Major Nelson]