These are the 2016 Independent Games Festival finalists


Lots of love for Undertale

The 2016 Independent Games Festival has figured out its finalists.

The Seumas McNally Grand Prize will go to either Darkest Dungeon, Her Story, Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes, Mini Metro, Superhot, or Undertale. If you’re a regular reader, you’re probably familiar with most if not all of those games by now. They come up a lot, and for good reason.

But I’d push you to also look through the rest of the list — particularly the honorable mentions, where there are lots of lesser-known gems to be found. The winners will be announced during an awards ceremony on Wednesday, March 16 in San Francisco. Capybara’s Nathan Vella is hosting again.

Excellence in Visual Art

Honorable Mentions:Forkride Grilltime Sloth(Black Pants Game Studio [Sebastian Stamm]);Epistory – Typing Chronicles(Fishing Cactus);Kingdom(noio & Licorice);Alto’s Adventure(Snowman);Future Unfolding(Spaces of Play);Astroneer(System Era Softworks)

Excellence in Narrative

Honorable Mentions:Oxenfree(Night School Studio);Orion Trail(Schell Games);Cibele(Star Maid Games);Contradiction (Tim Follin / Baggy Cat Ltd);The Writer Will Do Something(Tom Bissell and Matthew S. Burns)

Excellence in Design

Honorable Mentions:Gang Beasts(Boneloaf);Imbroglio(Michael Brough);Duskers(Misfits Attic);Chaos Reborn(Snapshot Games);TIS-100(Zachtronics);Soft Body(Zeke Virant)

Excellence in Audio

Honorable Mentions:Heart Forth, Alicia(Alonso Martin);The Beginner’s Guide(Everything Unlimited Ltd.);Gnog(KO_OP);Oxenfree(Night School Studio);Kingdom(noio & Licorice);Inside My Radio(Seaven Studio)

Nuovo Award

Honorable Mentions:Enough(cabbibo);Sentree(Glitchnap);Affordable Space Adventures(KnapNok Games and Nifflas’ Games);Vignettes(Pol Clarissou, Armel Gibson);Future Unfolding(Spaces of Play);Sage Solitaire(Zach Gage);TIS-100(Zachtronics)

Best Student Game

Honorable Mentions:Anarcute(Anarteam);Gathering Sky(A Stranger Gravity);Not Everything is Flammable(DAM: David Shiyang Liu, Alex Hu and Mac Lotze);FAR(Mr. Whale’s Game Service);Sumer(Studio Wumpus);Bad Blood(Winnie Song)

Seumas McNally Grand Prize

Honorable Mentions:The Beginner’s Guide(Everything Unlimited Ltd.);Panoramical(Fernando Ramallo & David Kanaga);Affordable Space Adventures(KnapNok Games and Nifflas’ Games);Twelve Minutes(Luis Antonio);Oxenfree(Night School Studio);That Dragon, Cancer(Numinous Games);Cibele(Star Maid Games);Soft Body(Zeke Virant)

2016 Independent Games Festival debuts finalists [IGF]