Red Dead Redemption 2 soundtrack album releasing in July


That’s PiaNO! Ah said PiaNI!

Rockstar’s magnum opus Red Dead Redemption 2 is to see a special soundtrack release next month, compiling a selection of tracks from the open-world adventure’s evocative score.

The Music of Red Dead Redemption 2 will feature 13 vocal music tracks by artists including Willie Nelson, D’Angelo, Josh Homme, Rhiannon Giddens, Nas and other talents. The album is being produced by industry mainstay Daniel Lanois, who has worked with legends such as Bob Dylan, U2 and Brian Eno.

Red Dead Redemption 2 provided a terrific compositional space, vast and covering a range of emotional textures – a real place for my imagination to run wild,” said Lanois in a press release. “From recording with Rhiannon Giddens in Nashville, to New Orleans with my friend Cyril Neville, to New York City with D’Angelo, to Willie Nelson and Josh Homme, the inspiration never quit!”

Fans who pre-order The Music of Red Dead Redemption 2 from iTunes will get instant access to two tracks: Rocco DeLuca’s “Crash of Worlds” and Daniel Lanois’ own “Table Top.” Seeing as you asked, my favourite Red Dead track is “You Better Smile” by Nicola Di Bari, which featured in Red Dead Revolver and thus… er… isn’t on this compilation, obviously.

The Music of Red Dead Redemption 2 launches July 12.

The Music of Red Dead Redemption 2: Original Soundtrack is coming July 12

Pre-order now from iTunes to download the first two singles: details:

— Rockstar Games (@RockstarGames) June 14, 2019