Supermassive Games trademarks multiple new Dark Pictures titles


Carnival of Terror

Supermassive Games has already won over a crypt full of horror game fans with its super-creepy anthology series The Dark Pictures — And it seems that the fun is only just beginning, as the studio has filed trademarks for further potential entries in its grim library of frightening features.

Yesterday, on the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO), five new listings appeared for as-yet-unannounced titles in The Dark Pictures anthology. While it should be made clear that this does not necessarily guarantee that all five games will be developed and published, it is a clear sign that Supermassive is far from finished with its spooky-ooky franchise.

The five trademarked titles are as follows:

  • The Dark Pictures: The Craven Man
  • The Dark Pictures Presents: O Death
  • The Dark Pictures: Directive 8020
  • The Dark Pictures: Intercession
  • The Dark Pictures: Winterfold

The new games, if any, will join previous Supermassive releases The Dark Pictures: Man of Medan (2019), The Dark Pictures: Little Hope (2020), and The Dark Pictures: House of Ashes (2021). While the titles are perhaps not the most non-linear of video games, they have won over horror fans with their intriguing stories, varied settings, and tense, branching gameplay.

The Dark Pictures is essentially a digital ghost train, one that many will continue to purchase tickets for. It would behoove Supermassive Games to continue the series while it remains profitable. If you want to get up to speed, then The Dark Pictures trilogy is available now on PlayStation, PC, and Xbox platforms.